TruAge ($499, finger-prick blood, methylation clocks incl. DunedinPACE) is the broadest; Elysium Index ($299) and TallyAge ($249) are cheaper saliva or cheek-swab methylation tests; GlycanAge (from EUR 499) measures immune glycans instead. Clocks can differ by up to 9 years between replicates, and no test is shown to improve health outcomes.
Talk to your doctor first. This is general information, not medical advice. Supplements and devices can interact with medicines and health conditions. We quote study protocols for context and do not recommend doses.
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate, Longevity Intel earns from qualifying purchases. Some links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions never change what we write. How we make money
The short answer: if you want the broadest report, TruDiagnostic’s TruAge is $499; if you want a cheaper methylation test, Elysium Index is $299 and Tally Health’s TallyAge kit is $249; GlycanAge, from EUR 499, measures immune-system glycans instead of DNA methylation. None is proven to improve health, none diagnoses disease, and the clocks behind them can be noisy: a 2022 study found technical noise moved results by up to 9 years between replicates of six prominent clocks. Prices are from each brand’s storefront on 29 Sept 2026.
The four tests side by side
Attribute
TruAge (TruDiagnostic)
Index (Elysium)
TallyAge (Tally Health)
GlycanAge
Price
$499 (TruAge + TruHealth bundle $849)
$299
$249 one-off; $234 membership price
About EUR 499; EUR 849 for two
Sample
Finger-prick blood, at home
Saliva
Cheek swab
Finger-prick blood, at home
Measures
DNA methylation: OMICmAge, SYMPHONYAge, DunedinPACE; 11 organ-system ages
DNA methylation via its APEX clock: biological age, pace of ageing, nine system ages
DNA methylation age (TallyAge, its own metric)
IgG glycans, an immune and inflammation marker
Turnaround
Not listed on pages we read
About 6 weeks
Not listed
3 to 4 weeks
Lab accreditation
Not found on the pages we read
Not stated
Not stated
CLIA-certified lab, per GlycanAge
Independent evidence on this exact product
Not found for OMICmAge or SYMPHONYAge
Not found
Not found
Glycan ageing research is published; not for this product
Sources: TruDiagnostic storefront and site; Elysium Index; Tally Health, where the kit’s product page and storefront data both show $249 ($234 with a membership); a $229 figure seen in a search listing could not be found on Tally’s site and is not used. GlycanAge’s FAQ gives the list price in euros (approx. EUR 499 single, EUR 849 for two tests) and says US pricing commonly runs USD 499 to 549 and USD 849 to 899, varying by provider; its home page and shop showed no price to our reader, so check the price at checkout.
What the research supports
Reliability is the weak point.Higgins-Chen 2022: technical noise produced deviations of up to 9 years between replicates for six prominent clocks; retrained principal-component versions kept most replicates within 1.5 years. The team’s clock work is licensed by Elysium, which supplied some of the replicate data and did not fund the study.
DunedinPACE has published validation for pace of ageing.Belsky 2022: high test-retest reliability, associated with morbidity, disability and mortality, and adding prediction beyond GrimAge in five datasets. Its authors are listed as inventors on a licensed invention.
Interventions show up on some clocks, not others. In the CALERIE trial (220 adults, 25% calorie restriction for two years), DunedinPACE slowed while PhenoAge and GrimAge did not; effect sizes were small.
Glycan ageing is a separate signal. IgG glycan patterns change with age and track inflammation and mortality in a 2026 review; that supports the idea, not GlycanAge’s individual results.
We found no study that ran these four commercial products on the same people, so nobody can say which is more accurate.
Should you buy one
Consider it as a curiosity or a rough trend line, not a health check. A gap between biological and chronological age is not a diagnosis, and a single result cannot tell you which habit to change; the biomarkers that clinicians act on (blood pressure, ApoB, glucose) and fitness measures such as VO2 max have firmer links to outcomes. If you retest, use the same company and sample type, and expect noise. How one widely publicised longevity protocol uses these tests is covered in this explainer. Talk to your doctor about any result that worries you.
Method note
Researched from brand storefronts and product pages and PubMed abstract records, checked 29 Sept 2026. Abstracts only. We did not take any test. Prices exclude tax, shipping and subscriptions. Longevity Intel may earn a commission on some links. General information, not medical advice.
Common questions
Are biological age tests accurate?+
They are noisy at the individual level. A 2022 Nature Aging paper found technical noise produced deviations of up to 9 years between replicates of the same sample for six prominent epigenetic clocks, and a computational fix brought most replicates within 1.5 years. Consumer tests may or may not use that fix; we could not confirm which do.
Which biological age test is best?+
It depends on what you want measured. DunedinPACE (in TruAge) has published test-retest, mortality and trial-response data; GlycanAge measures a different signal (immune IgG glycans). No head-to-head study of the consumer products exists, so we do not rank them on accuracy.
Can a biological age test tell me if my lifestyle changes work?+
Not reliably for one person. In the CALERIE trial (220 adults, 25% calorie restriction for two years) DunedinPACE showed slower ageing while two other clocks did not, with small effect sizes, so results depend on the clock, and group averages are not personal answers.
Independent audit: Tally price confirmed at $249 on its product page ($229 not found); GlycanAge euro list price with its FAQ's US range, turnaround and CLIA statement sourced; Elysium licensing-tie claim removed; 'strongest validation' wording removed; CALERIE size and effect-size caveat added.
Rebuilt as a price and method comparison of four consumer tests. Removed unsourced claims: mortality risk per year of age acceleration, interventions that 'reduce biological age by 0.5 to 2 years', a 2.5-year FMD reduction, smoking and alcohol figures, interpretation bands for DunedinPACE, and the old $299 / $129 TruAge and $179 Elysium subscription prices. Added test-retest reliability evidence and the CALERIE result.