CoQ10 and Ubiquinol: What Trials Show, and Cost
CoQ10 evidence: Q-SYMBIO in heart failure patients, mixed statin-muscle-pain meta-analyses, ubiquinol vs ubiquinone, and monthly cost at the trial dose.
Researched from published studies and manufacturer specifications, checked .
We have not tested products ourselves. How we research
Quick verdict
CoQ10 has its best evidence in chronic heart failure: Q-SYMBIO's primary endpoint occurred in 15% vs 26%. Two meta-analyses on statin muscle pain disagree. No trial we found shows benefit in healthy people or that ubiquinol beats ubiquinone. Do not stop a statin or heart medicine on your own.
Talk to your doctor first. This is general information, not medical advice. Supplements and devices can interact with medicines and health conditions. We quote study protocols for context and do not recommend doses.
The short answer: CoQ10’s best evidence is in people with chronic heart failure: in the Q-SYMBIO trial, 420 patients on standard therapy had the primary long-term endpoint (major cardiovascular events over 2 years) in 15% on CoQ10 vs 26% on placebo, though the short-term endpoints at 16 weeks did not change significantly. Two meta-analyses on statin muscle pain disagree with each other, and we found no trial showing benefit in healthy people or proving ubiquinol beats ubiquinone. Talk to your doctor; do not stop a statin or heart medicine on your own.
What the evidence shows
Grades follow the rubric.
| Question | Grade | Evidence | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chronic heart failure | Moderate | Q-SYMBIO: 420 patients with moderate to severe heart failure, 100 mg three times daily (300 mg/day) for 2 years, primary long-term endpoint 15% vs 26% (HR 0.50, CI 0.32 to 0.80); cardiovascular and all-cause mortality lower as secondary endpoints. No significant change in the 16-week endpoints | One trial; patients with heart failure on standard therapy, not healthy people |
| Statin muscle symptoms | Weak (contradictory) | 2018 meta-analysis of 12 RCTs (575 patients): less muscle pain, weakness and cramps, no change in creatine kinase. 2020 meta-analysis of 7 RCTs (321 patients): no benefit for myalgia or adherence | Small trials; the two reviews reach opposite conclusions |
| Total cholesterol | Emerging | A dose-response meta-analysis found the largest reduction at 400 to 500 mg/day | A marker, not an outcome; 50 RCTs, pooled total cholesterol fell 5.53 mg/dL (heterogeneity I-squared 70%), a small average change |
| Ubiquinol vs ubiquinone | Not shown | No head-to-head outcome trial found | Absorption differences do not equal clinical benefit |
What it costs at a trial dose
From our cost per study dose dataset: brand pages and storefront data, 28 to 29 Sept 2026, USD, at 300 mg/day (the Q-SYMBIO dose; the dose used in that heart failure trial, not a target), before tax and shipping. Cost per 100 mg is the fair comparison, because the labels differ in form.
| Product | Form | Price | Per 100 mg | Per month at 300 mg/day | Testing stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutricost 100 mg x 120 | not stated | $18.97 | $0.16 | $14.23 | generic “third-party tested”, lab not named |
| Double Wood Liposomal 100 mg x 60 | liposomal CoQ10 | $19.95 | $0.33 | $29.92 | self-stated, no named certifier |
| Jarrow Q-absorb 100 mg x 120 | ubiquinone | $49.99 | $0.42 | $37.49 | none stated |
| Jarrow QH-absorb 100 mg x 120 | ubiquinol | $85.99 | $0.72 | $64.49 | none stated |
| Momentous Ubiquinol 100 mg x 30 | ubiquinol | $34.99 | $1.17 | $104.97 | NSF Certified for Sport (stated on page) |
| Thorne Ubiquinol (Kaneka) 100 mg x 60 | ubiquinol | $78.00 | $1.30 | $117.00 | none stated |
The spread is eightfold. Q-SYMBIO’s abstract names CoQ10 without stating the form; we did not read its full text, so treat the plain-CoQ10 and ubiquinone rows as the closest to the trial, not as exact matches; the ubiquinol products sell on absorption. Jarrow states that QH-absorb raised blood CoQ10 by 222% at 100 mg a day and 777% at 300 mg (its own claim, on its product page); a higher blood level is not the same as a better outcome, and we found no head-to-head trial of outcomes. The only NSF-certified product here is also among the dearest, so price and testing pull in opposite directions (what each certification checks).
The dose that produced the heart failure result costs far more than one label serving; that is a fact about the trial, not a target. See where CoQ10 sits in the graded supplement ladder and the complete stack; compare with omega-3 and berberine for other cardiometabolic options.
Method note
Researched from PubMed abstract records and brand pages and storefront data (28 to 29 Sept 2026; arithmetic ours). Abstracts only; grades are our judgement using the published rubric. We did not test any product. General information, not medical advice: this page gives no personal dose.
Common questions
Does CoQ10 help statin muscle pain?
Meta-analyses disagree. A 2018 analysis of 12 RCTs (575 patients) found CoQ10 lessened statin-associated muscle pain, weakness and cramps. A 2020 analysis of 7 RCTs (321 patients) found no improvement in myalgia symptoms and no better statin adherence. Ask your doctor before changing statin treatment.
Is ubiquinol better than ubiquinone?
We did not find a trial showing it. Q-SYMBIO's abstract does not state which form it used. Ubiquinol is the reduced form and is usually priced higher; the price difference in our dataset is large.
Sources
- Q-SYMBIO, CoQ10 in chronic heart failure (JACC Heart Fail 2014) checked 29 Sept 2026
- CoQ10 and statin-associated myalgia, systematic review and meta-analysis (Atherosclerosis 2020) checked 29 Sept 2026
- CoQ10 and statin-induced myopathy, updated meta-analysis (J Am Heart Assoc 2018) checked 29 Sept 2026
- CoQ10 and total cholesterol, dose-response meta-analysis (J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2022) checked 29 Sept 2026
- Jarrow Formulas, QH-absorb ubiquinol and Q-absorb ubiquinone (storefront prices; 222% and 777% blood-level claim) checked 29 Sept 2026
- Jarrow Formulas, Q-absorb ubiquinone 100 mg (120 count, $49.99) checked 29 Sept 2026
- Nutricost, CoQ10 100 mg capsules (120 count, $18.97) checked 29 Sept 2026
- Momentous, Ubiquinol 100 mg (30 softgels, $34.99 one-time; NSF Certified for Sport stated) checked 29 Sept 2026
- Thorne, Ubiquinol (Kaneka), 60 gelcaps, $78 checked 29 Sept 2026
- Double Wood, Liposomal CoQ10 (60 servings of 100 mg, $19.95) checked 29 Sept 2026
- Longevity Intel cost per study dose dataset (prices checked 2026-09-28; Double Wood and Momentous re-checked 2026-09-29) checked 29 Sept 2026
Update log
- Independent audit against the PubMed abstracts and brand pages: added Q-SYMBIO's null short-term endpoints, the size of the pooled cholesterol effect, and a caveat that Q-SYMBIO's form is not stated in its abstract; the statin row relabelled as contradictory evidence. All six prices, counts and monthly costs re-read and recomputed, unchanged.
- Priced six CoQ10 products per 100 mg and per month at the Q-SYMBIO dose (added Nutricost and two Jarrow products; Momentous softgel count filled); dataset updated.
- Price re-check: Double Wood and Momentous prices re-checked 29 Sept 2026, unchanged.
- Sourcing pass: replaced unsourced claims (ubiquinol for older adults, statin need) with Q-SYMBIO and two conflicting statin-myopathy meta-analyses; removed dose advice and unverified product claims.
Data and comparisons
- CoQ10 evidence record
Essential for mitochondrial electron transport chain
- Berberine evidence record
Often called "natural metformin"
- NMN evidence record
A direct NAD+ precursor that restores declining NAD+ levels with age
- Resveratrol evidence record
A polyphenol that activates sirtuins (SIRT1)
Related reading
NMN: Legal Status, NMN vs NR, What Trials Show
Is NMN legal in the US supplement market, how does it compare with NR, what human trials found, and what a month costs at the dose those trials used.

Omega-3 Fish Oil: What Trials Show, Cost per EPA+DHA
Omega-3 fish oil from the big trials: VITAL, REDUCE-IT and STRENGTH results, the atrial fibrillation signal, and monthly cost at the dose VITAL used.

Magnesium Supplements: Evidence by Form, and Cost
Magnesium from trials and meta-analyses: blood pressure, sleep in older adults, the L-threonate memory trial, and monthly cost at the dose a review used.

Lithium Orotate and NDGA: What Is Actually Known
Lithium orotate: a 2025 Nature study links brain lithium loss to Alzheimer's in mice and human tissue; no human supplement trial. NDGA not covered.

Urolithin A (Mitopure): Trials, Funding and Cost per Dose
Urolithin A human trials: missed primary endpoints, company funding, and what three brands cost per month at the dose used in the trials.